Advice on setting up a spray tanning business please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamT

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to Salon Geek, I've been researching spray tan machines/solutions etc as I am looking to start a mobile spray tanning business and while searching the internet Salon Geek came up a lot and you all seem very knowledgeable so I hope you can help!

I am looking for advice on which machine is the best to buy and which solution to go for? Also, I have a spray tanning certificate which I got with St Tropez from working in a salon as an employee so is that enough or do I need to go on another course to be able to use a different solution and to get insurance?

There are sooo many different machines and solutions that I have no idea which to go for and I'm worried about going for the wrong ones.

Thanks in advance for any advice! :wink2:

Did you do an actual spray tanning course? If not then yes you do need to go on a certified course.

I currently have the hvlp5008 machine which does a lot of tans per day get anything smaller and you won't be able to do as many- but I do believe they have bought out an upgraded version if mine.

I trained with nouvatan. I use their solution and la tan - these are both my fave

You don't need to be trained in a specific brand to use their solution - aslong as you have a tanning certificate you can choose whatever solution you want.

I brought my kit from la tan as it was a lot cheaper than what other tanning companies were so make sure you shop around for you machine and tent to get the best deal

Hth x x x x x

:biggrin:Thanks for the reply!

I'm not really sure if it was classed as a course as such, the St Tropez rep came into the salon where I worked and trained me, I had to do a written exam as well as a practical assessment and I got a certificate.