MAC makeup course

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chazzybabe

Reaction score
ok so i have been looking at doing a makeup course and have searched high and low for a mac makeup course and have finally found one
i was just wondering as this is only a masterclass would i be able to call myself a mac makeup artist or would i need to take a more in depth training course to be able to class myself as this any help would be great?;)

Make Up Courses - Masterclass (Using MAC Makeup) – London MakeUp School

Do you already have experience and/or qualifications in make up artistry? If not, a one-day course will only give you some basic tips, not a proper qualification.

If I saw someone advertising themselves as a MAC artist, I would assume they were employed by MAC. The lady who did my wedding make-up was a MAC artist and she worked part time in a MAC store and freelanced the rest of the time.

The alternative is to become a member of MAC Pro - there is info on this on the MAC website. You would need to do a recognised course (at a make up school registered with/approved by MAC) to apply for their Pro card, which gives you a discount on products. I don't personally believe this makes you a MAC artist - but you could say (as some make up artists I have seen do) that you are a MAC Pro card holder, which indicates that you have done a course approved by MAC.

I do have a mac pro card as i did makeup at college so have an insight to it just want to progress a bit further into it and mac only run masterclasses, they dont do a makeup artist course x

The only people I know of who call themselves MAC artists are employed by MAC - not sure what else it would mean?