Patch testing for eyelashes

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopkica

Reaction score
I've never done this before but want to do a new client. Do I just add a few lashes to the end of one of her eyes leave for 24 hours and see for any reactions? I don't really want to put the glue on her skin :-/

Thanks all xx

I've never done this before but want to do a new client. Do I just add a few lashes to the end of one of her eyes leave for 24 hours and see for any reactions? I don't really want to put the glue on her skin :-/

Thanks all xx

Hello,

Worryingly, the patch test procedure should have been covered in your training...

H x

I know but it was two years ago now, I know I should do patch testing but being mobile it's not always possible xx

I know but it was two years ago now, I know I should do patch testing but being mobile it's not always possible xx

I've been told 2 ways by 2 different trainers

The ol' fashioned way, dab behind ear

Or add 2-3 short lashes to the outer edge of lash line. Better if you and client have the time.

H x

Last edited:
Cool i might do the behind the ear one then, have you then had to remove this or do you literally do like a tiny bit!

Thanks so much! xx

Cool i might do the behind the ear one then, have you then had to remove this or do you literally do like a tiny bit!

Thanks so much! xx

Just a dab on a bud, Hun.

H x

I have been told never to put the glue ont he skin as its not meant to come into contact with it.

I patch test by putting a few on the corners of the eye - the senstivity would be to the fumes or glue around the eye so essentially patch testing behind the ear wouldnt show any sensitivity in the correct area.