Post Pregnancy Massage

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rainbowtanning

Reaction score
I'm studying Massage at the moment and my sister in law has asked if she can have a massage. However, she has just had a baby (he's a week old now) and I just want to check and see if it's okay. I have googled and from what I can tell there shouldn't be any problem as long as I don't go too deep, particularly around the tummy area which I would probably avoid for a few more weeks. Aside from ensuring she is aware of the contra-actions, is there any other adice? xx

ooo i'm very intrested to know this too, i would of thought wait til their 6 week check at the doctors on the safe side as things might not be right (if that makes sense) but knowing me i will be completely wrong hehehe

That was my thinking too but from what I've read it's ok and can be beneficial........lets see if anyone else has any more info for both of us xxxx

I did some research on this for my massage course work for ITEC - first point - SPEAK TO YOUR INSURANCE :)
If they don't have any specific restrictions then assuming that there were NO complications in birth - no epidural, no c-section, no reason to suspect blood clotting etc then yes, a full body massage can be done. Don't do anything other than relaxing, no deep tissue anywhere - so no hard petrisage strokes. Avoid the tummy area, this has just taken some serious hammering in the last few days and you want to leave it to heal in it's own time.
If there is any complications like epidural or c-sec etc then I'd recommend asking the mum to get a doctors note to state you are fine to massage to cover yourself.