Therapist's nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lucy-s

Reaction score
Okay, so at our college we've been told to have no nail polish on our nails and have them short on the days we are carrying out treatments.

My nails grow quite quickly but I prefer them to be short when im doing treatments anyway but i've seen therapists in salons with long nails.

Is this just a college thing or were the therapist with long, polished nails (sometimes acrylics) being a bit unhygenic?

Well I am a therapist and I have long acrylic nails, they arent unhygenic as I wash them and use cool blue sanitiser regulalrly before every client....

I think colleges set daft rules to be honest, I walked out of a college course after being told I couldnt wear my nose ring, I could wear a stud but not a ring and I had to cover up my wrist tattoo so I didnt offend people!!! (its only a star!!)

Covering up a star tattoo is ridiculous!

Thats what I thought. I can understand maybe for facials because product can become trapped underneath the nails. Apparently its no nail polish because it could chip and fall off onto the clients skin? I wasnt allowed to wear french tips which was a bit silly even though my nails are short?

I dunno!

I personally prefer them short because I cant seem to do much with long nails but just wanted to see what salons/ mobile therapists actually do.

Last edited:
I can see why colleges are picky about varnish as having clear nails enables the client to see the nails are clean, and at the end of the day whilst we might know under our nails are clean, a client doesn't.

On the subject of length, I can't begin to imagine how one could carry out a good deep massage or decent facial with long nails. I would certainly be put off by talons if I was about to have a massage!