A little business advice please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martincath

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a beauty therapist currently working 40 hours a week in a salon 20 miles from my hometown. I have worked in the salon for over a year now and done anything that is asked of me always to the best of my ability. The issue is that since I have started, my pay has stayed the same and to be honest it is not enough for a fully qualified beautician who has been on multiple training courses as well.

So I need some advice! Would it be rude of me to start my own Facebook page and begin doing some treatments from home in the evenings? I have the equipment. Although I am not signed up to any contracts stating I cannot practice out of work, I am afraid my boss might take it the wrong way. Any help greatly appreciated!

As you have been there over a year your employer should give you an annual appraisal. Following a good appraisal you can then start a discussion on a pay rise.

I would try this route first before starting up at home. Start by asking when your appraisal will take place.

If you were my employee and I found out you were working from home, you'd be sacked immediately for gross misconduct. Whether you have a written contract or not, there is an implied contract in place, given you have been there so long. Asking for a review and trying to work with your boss, rather than going behind her back, is definitely the better option.

I worked in a salon as a beautician and nail technician for 5 years , I had no contract of employment , I did also work mobile but was 8 mile away from the salon I never treated the salon clients outside of work I built up a separate clientele and I told my manager what I was doing , it was fine she new I wouldn't poach salon clients , x

Hi,