Advice needed on business and training

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kerrylou68

Reaction score
Hi I am new to this but need some advice. I have decided to retrain in beauty after 20 yrs in senior management and had enough of dreaming of owning my own business. I have a lot of experience in my career in marketing and businessmanagement. I have the opportunity to buy a local beauticians with 2 very experienced staff . The current owner doesn't market or push the business and I can see the potential in the business as there is a great client base which is more 30+ yrs rather than very young . with new products and services and events etc and some retail turnover I really think it could be a great business. This now brings me to my lack of training. I have training planned and thought whilst I am developing myself the existing staff would be able to continue to support the business whilst I worked in it full time developing my experience whilst using my business skills to develope the business further. I know this will take time but am I mad to think I can go into the industry at 40 given my lack of experience..........sorry I have gone on a bit but wanted to explain my dilemma.

I have zero experience of this, so I can't help at all But I just wanted to say that I don't think it's ever too late to make a change and do something that makes you happy. 40 is no age at all, in my opinion. You still have a lot of working years left - you might as well spend themdojng something that makes you happy. Otherwise, you'll always wonder "what if?", right?

Good luck!