Advice needed, Shellac

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KelP

Reaction score
Hi there. I'm in need of some advice please. I've been using Shellac for around 5 years now, as of late (I'd say the last 3 months or so) some of my clients who have shellac over their acrylics are having issues with the paint peeling from the tips within the week of getting them done. I don't believe I am doing anything different than before just want some advice as to how I could prevent this from happening any further. Thank you in advance xo

Do your bulbs need changing?

When you apply shellac over l&p are using a base coat? Because if you are you don't need one, also make sure they are not buffed too smooth x

What fluffy said

When you apply shellac over l&p are using a base coat? Because if you are you don't need one, also make sure they are not buffed too smooth x
Thanks hun. I'm not using a base coat and don't buff them shiny... I'm sure I'm doing everything right.... maybe they are just doing something that they are not telling me and i just have take the fall
Appreciate any other tips xo

do these clients have long nail extensions?

Do you have pics? Is it chipping or peeling off in sections ? ;)

Let's get to the bottom of this for you !

Thank you xo.
There are 3 that stand out that it keeps happening to. 1 has long and the shape is between stiletto and almond so quite sharp. The other is short and round and 1 is very short and square.... so all very different.
Here's 2 pics. Xo

Attachments

• Resized_20170422_202202.jpeg
    Resized_20170422_202202.jpeg
    157.2 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_4133.jpg
    IMG_4133.jpg
    479.2 KB · Views: 129
...the black one looks like 2+ weeks growth !? How long had she had them on before she complained of chipping? X