Any suggestions please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GlitzyGirl

Reaction score
Hi all,
I have a little query someone might be able to help me with.
I have just found out that mydaughter has a friend who's mum manages a tanning salon at the bottom of my road. I see this girl everyday, but she just realised that I am a nail technician. She said she was impressed by my own nails and asked if I would consider renting a table there.
The thing is, they already have someone renting, but it's available for mondays & thursdays. She says there is no rent to pay, just percentage. But the problem is I don't have any client base. She was also keen when I said I do nail art and have a distinction in airbrushing. There does'nt seem to be anybody offering these in the area.
I know I am going on a bit now and probably confusing every1, but what I want to ask is
1 Do you think I should go for it, if I can?
2 What % should I aggree to?
3 Any suggestions to make it work and be good?

Thanks for all your advice in advance
Aylin

Percentage is normally about 25-20%. But it depends of she is supplying the products or you. If you, then will the other person be able to use them as you wouldn't want this to happen, particularly your airbrush? Who provides your insurance? Your advertising? What happens if you get a complaint when you're not there, will they back you up? Do you like the people in the salon? Is it a busy tanning salon? What would you do if the other lady's client came in for a repair, infills etc when you are working there and vice versa? Would you be using the same products?

If you don't have a client base then %age is a good way because if you don't have clients then you don't pay rent.

Lots to think about!! HTH