Badly damaged nails after Shellac

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wendynailedit

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm looking for a little reassurance really. I've had 2 clients this week who, when having their Shellac removed, have had awful, dehydrated nails underneath, shellac missing off several altogether and peeling, splitting, broken nails. I've advised them to have a break and drench their nails in solar oil for a couple of weeks and we'll review them then. They aren't great at applying their oil, of that I'm certain! It does worry me though how bad their nails are.

Could it be something I'm doing? I'm really new to this, and potentially losing 2 clients is really worrying for me. One of them had been going to a salon and having shellac before she came to me, and had no problems with her nails breaking. However after speaking to her, i found out that they were removing her shellac by soaking her nails in bowls of acetone. She only went twice, but could this have caused her nails to be in a bad way before she came to me?

Sorry for the long story!

Any advice would be great.

Shellac does not ruin nails!
You need to make your clients aware of the importance of Solar Oil to keep the nail plate hydrated.
The white or dryness you are seeing upon removal of Shellac is what the nail would naturally shed if no product was applied. Its just that it cannot shed while Shellac is on and so becomes more evident when removed.
There is nothing to worry about and they do not need a break.
x

Oh thank you. I was so worried because they look awful! Also, so many of them have broken really short they look terrible! Would they have been damaged by all the acetone from being soaked previously? She hadn't been advised of using solar oil until she came to me either which hasn't helped! X