Best friends and business

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LSnails

Reaction score
So I currently work for my best friend in her beauty salon, she specalises in hair and is always fully booked! I am new to nails and want to put myself on a spray tan course aswell as a brow course, the only problem is she said if I do I can't advertise it outside of the shop as I will be taking custom away from her.

I get that I can't just be beating all her prices and taking customers but I feel like I should be able to advertise on my own Facebook page. I want to offer fake Bake and her salon doesn't currently offer that as they use omg, my tan would be more expensive than she charges in her shop so I'm not under cutting her or anything.

If you employ staff do you let then advertise as mobile when they are not in work?

Also when she took me on she told me I would be working full time hours and I'm only getting 28 which means my money is already down. I just don't want to fall out with her but I always want to improve my skills and make this. Lifelong career and earn some money!

Any advice would be great!

I am in a very similar situation. Although I cannot shed any light on your question I would like to know what people say on the matter as I need advise also.

My boss asked me to come work for her after she turned me down because I do beauty in a beauty room at the gym and said I was competition so she couldn't have me work for her. She then came back to me a few months later and said she doesn't mind about my other job and asked if I would do some hours. She then said that she wanted me full time and still said it was fine that I was at the gym doing beauty.