Bleaching & colouring lace wig advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nsw91

Reaction score
Hello fellow geeks.

Let me start of by saying that I'm not a professional, I've done DIY jobs before with some minor bleaching, but not anything like what I am going to attempt.

I wear lace wigs for personal taste, not for medical reasons. However a lot of vendors out there don't do custom colours/styles and if they do, they are usually very expensive. So I see a lot of people, a lot of amateurs on YouTube and blog sites who buy wigs and extensions, then colour them themselves, so I thought why not.

Of course that brings me to why I am here. I bought a natural black, virgin Brazilian unprocessed full lace wig that I am wanting to colour. I have strand tested and I can confirm its as described. The colour I am trying to achieve is a light brown into a sandy browny blonde ombre with some soft lighter highlights. The following youtube has pretty much the colour I am trying to achieve:

At about 1:50 onwards is probably the best lighting to review her hair in, and I'm wanting pretty much that, maybe slightly lighter.

I am confident that I know how to at least apply the bleach (been watching youtube videos for months on balayage/ombreing), but in terms of what kind of bleach, or suggested toners or colours to use is basically the reason why I am making this post. Maybe I should do all the bleaching on the parts I want to be lighter, then use a violet/purple toner? I don't know, that's why I would appreciate assistance haha.