Blending/applying acrylics

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lisa198430

Reaction score
Hi I'm a newbie and after some advice please :)
I'm currently on a nail tech course and have a few questions..1)blending the tip is it just the artificial tip you blend? How do you avoid it snapping off if so?
2)applying the acrylic I am struggling with getting the beading right as when I apply it it's always too thick :-(
3) how do you stop the brushes getting wrecked? The acrylic seems to dry so quick on the brush then I can't get it out

Hi, what product line are you using and where are you training. Your educator should be able to keep an eye on you and help during class time. Don't be afraid to call her over and ask lots of questions and let her stand and watch you until you are improving.

Blending tips is a skill, and is a difficult one to master...but once you do you'll never lose it.

The best type of tips to use have a micro well, but if you are using full well tips you can cut out part of the well to make them micro. I tended to pre blend tips in that I would file the surface of the tip slightly before applying it. Once applied cut to the right length and thin down the tip from the free edge towards where it meets the nail. Don't go straight to the blend line! Once you have thinned the tip out blending the line will be easier. Always be aware what part of your file is connecting with the tip to ensure you are never filing the natural nail. Long smooth strokes with the file are better than short fast ones as you can cause a friction burn on your poor clients nail bed! Long slow strokes should also ensure you don't overdo it and blend the tip right off!
Another reason they could be snapping off could be it wasn't properly attached, in that there could be air bubbles underneath. Ensure all parts of the well are firmly adhered to the nail before lifting your file.