Calling all hairdressers

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am a beauty therapist but I'm asking for personal reasons for your advice on my hair! Naturally it's a medium brown with a bit of red in it (so the hair dresser says) but for the past couple of years due to shortage of cash I have used boxed colours on my hair. All being permanent and RED! Then I thought I could just put a boxed brown on it to cover up! .....didn't work!
I now want to get rid of the red and go lighter, is this possible and what should I do? Or ask the hair dresser to do. There are some amazing hair stylists out there but there are also some who are not that great. I've been turned away by them when I have asked to go lighter :/ I'm not sure if I like the thought of stripping my hair as its not in great condition as it is! I have attached a photo of my hair so you can see.

Any help would be amazing :)
ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1375044496.420645.jpg

Love your brows!

They will need to strand test to check the condition of your hair.

I would book in for a consultation and a strand test and take it from there. (With a reputable salon or nearby hair geek)

How much lighter

As you are not a Hair pro but a Consumer this has been moved to Consumer.

Do you think youve been turned down for colouring due to the condition?

Id suggest going for a consultation and discuss what you want colourwise and how you can get there, ie: conditioning treatment in salon and home, staged lightening over several appointments etc, as youve found with the box dye sometimes the quick way isnt the way to go.

Budget wise ask if they have apprentice days who could do at least part of your treatment to keep costs down and colleges start again in sept, the level 3's would love to help, practically at cost yet fully supervised and you could use this time to build condition.