Essential Nails

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaisyJade

Reaction score
Hi all just wondering if these essential nails home courses are any good and worth the money
Many thanks

I think the general consensus is that it's fine to dabble with as a complete beginner but if you really want to become a Nail Technician, you need to do a proper recognised qualification such as an VRQ/NVQ or one of the indepth courses run by the Nail product companies themselves such as CND, YoungNails, Nail Harmony etc. If you want to work in a salon, they usually insist on having a recognised qualification these days.

Most insurance companies won't cover an Essential Nails course primarily because you've not gained experience with working on real people.

If money is an issue, it might be better in the long run to save up and go with a well known training company.
Don't waste your money doing short 1-2 day courses with a local trainer unless you've researched them thoroughly.

Also, accreditation can simply mean that an insurance company has been paid by the training company to offer insurance to people completing the course. It's not an indication of training quality!

Here's some more threads from geeks who have asked a similar question previously.

http://www.salongeek.com/search/7114653/?q=Essential+nails&o=relevance

Most insurance companies won't cover an Essential Nails course primarily because you've not gained experience with working on real people.

Perhaps if you only do one, you will not have the full depth of skills that a nail technician needs, but if you do all of the required modules, you will be required to submit evidence that you have worked on real clients. I can say that they are very picky when it comes to the evidence you provide; I had to resubmit several times and Sarah Gooderham who was my marker was rather pedantic.