finding a job when i have zero salon experience!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jessiecakes7

Reaction score
Hello! I'm jessica I'm 24 years old and I've loved doing hair and makeup since I was little. My sisters were my guinea pigs. I got my license after I turned 21 but I have no salon experience because I'm from a small town and had some unpleasant experiences with some salons from my home town. I recently moved to the beach with my husband and have applied to about 30 salons in the area. I had some interviews but I haven't been hired. I'm always polite and outgoing but I'm worried that no one will hire me because I've had my license for so long and have no experience! I've been doing friends and families hair since school so I have personal experience but not salon experience. However I'm looking for a postion as an assistant or even a receptionist just to get my foot in the door. I'm meeting with the owner of a salon on Monday at a class they are having. Do you think my chances are slim of getting hired because of my inexperience. I'm very motivated but the last couple yrs were rough my fiancee lost his job and I picked up extra shifts at my job to pay bills and plan a wedding and also had a few health issues. I'm just hoping that people can look passed all that so wish me luck and any tips you have would be greatly appreciated!

Just tell them how passionate you are about it! Say that you understand you will have to start from the very beginning and your willing to take a small wage to start with. Good luck!x