Garage conversion to salon!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smc123

Reaction score
Hi everyone, i am in the process of converting my garage in to salon! thought it would be a great idea to avoid paying rent! however i am now starting to panic if this was a terrible idea and i get no clients. Has anyone ever done this and found it to be successful ? I am a qualified therapist and I am good at my job but i feel as passerbys wont see it no one will know im there!

thanks!xx

Yep, my garage has been converted too, I have only been working from home for less than a year so Im not overly busy but its steady, most of my business is word of mouth, lots of mums from the school come to me, then their family and friends too so its constantly growing.

Im quite happy working part time as I have kids and a hubby to look after as well as working at the school on occasions.

If you want people to know you are there then advertise, leaflet drop etc - good luck in your new business x

My Mum converted her garage to a treatment room a few years ago and it has been fantastic for her. She is a holistic therapist and a chiropodist, she used to work mobile, but was having increasing back problems carrying all her equipment around, so converted the garage. All of her regular clients came with her, so she didn't loose out, and her client base has grown. It is great as there is parking available in the drive, and the clients use the back door and go straight into the treatment room, so it's all very professional.
She did a bit of advertising, but mainly all her clients have been through word of mouth.
The benefit for me is I can now use the treatment room on days when my Mum isn't working, and we can both advertise our different services to 2 client bases.
I hope that the conversion works for you and you find it a benefit! Good luck:)