Gel nails chipping & peeling

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LizzieIsla05

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the nail industry and just need some advice.

I am currently using Gelish polish, which I decided on due to the amount of positive reviews about the brand. I bought a set which included the Ph bonder, base coat, top coat, wipe off and 10 colours. I have been practising on friends and family but have got really mixed results. I have found a number of the colours shrink on the nail, even prior to curing them however this only happens on about half of them, is there anything I can do to stop this? Following this, I have also had some sets that last 2-3 weeks, where as others have chipped or peeled after only a couple of days. I am really unsure why this would be, the only things I've done differently from one set to the other is using cuticle cream on some but not others, buffing and the curing time (I use a Miropure UV LED lamp), originally for 30 secs for each coat but i have started doing 60 secs.

Should i be using cuticle cream and pushing the cuticles or is this just adding oils to the nails?
I know I shouldn't have to buff, but does everyone else do this anyway?
Will curing for 60 secs over 30 secs make a difference?

I also want to try a few different brands to see if this helps, can anyone recommend some for me to try, and can I still use the Gelish top and bottom coats with the other branded colour?

Thanks in advance for your help :)

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the nail industry and just need some advice.