Gelish vs coloured acrylic?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emmabeautique

Reaction score
I've been doing nails (acrylic) although can do gel for 13 years ....I have over 500 colours.
Thinking of introducing gelish but concerned that I will end up doing acrylic extensions then gelish over .. Therefor ending up doing 2 treatments and don't think clients would pay much extra ...
Has anyone else considered introducing gelish whilst having coloured acrylics?? And if so what issues did you encounter?
Do you think I would be targeting new clientele as can't see my acrylic ladies going with out acrylic ?? And don't want to end up doing 2 treatments and have to charge a minimal fee xx

I do enhancements and often do shellac or Gelish over I just add £10 to the enhancement price, never had any worries.

People arnt going to normally have coloured acrylic if having Gelish over, I do colours and 3d art and I've only ever done clear then, shellazc or Gelish.

Just get the feeling people wouldn't pay as we have so many coloured acrylics!!!! Just love the idea of it but not sure if worth the investment xx

For many years, liquid and powder/gel enhancements or traditional polish were pretty much your only options if you wanted to have your nails done.

Clients won't pay for coloured acrylics and then gelish on top, but now there are so many more options and a LOT of clients really want the perfect long-wear manicure without the commitment of having to wear enhancements. It is obviously your call, but it was fantastic for my business.

It may being you more clients! Not everyone wants acrylics :) Adding Gelish to my treatment list was the best thing I ever did. They are so much more popular than acrylics in my salon now. Quicker for us too! ;)