Grit for gel nail removal?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BabyPyg

Reaction score
Hi all,

I sometimes get gels at a salon and sometimes apply/remove at home myself (I'm not a professional). Which grit should I use to file away the top shiny layer prior removal with acetone. I'm currently using the buff side of a 4-way buffer that came with my gel kit but I think it's a very bog standard buffer that you could buy in the chemist and not professional or specific enough for the task.
I don't want to ask my nail lady - looks a bit cheeky as it basically admits to her I sometimes do a DIY job to save £.

I've done some research and I keep seeing 100 grit and 180 grit - opinions are mixed. Any help would be hugely appreciated as not being a professional I don't want to use the wrong grit and end up buffing all the way down to my natural nail.

Thank you!

Hi all,

I sometimes get gels at a salon and sometimes apply/remove at home myself (I'm not a professional). Which grit should I use to file away the top shiny layer prior removal with acetone. I'm currently using the buff side of a 4-way buffer that came with my gel kit but I think it's a very bog standard buffer that you could buy in the chemist and not professional or specific enough for the task.
I don't want to ask my nail lady - looks a bit cheeky as it basically admits to her I sometimes do a DIY job to save £.

I've done some research and I keep seeing 100 grit and 180 grit - opinions are mixed. Any help would be hugely appreciated as not being a professional I don't want to use the wrong grit and end up buffing all the way down to my natural nail.

Thank you!