How do I overcome a restrictive covenant issue?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dymphna

Reaction score
Hello,
I am a newbie and pulling out my hair over a restrictive covenant in our deeds.

I'd like to convert a spare room to use for my beauty treatments but am worried about a restrictive covenant that states "no trade or business of any kind shall be carried on upon any part thereof without previous consent in writing from the Vendor".
The covenant goes back to 1921 but I understand it is enforceable under the Land Registration Act 1925.

I Googled restrictive covenants and took up an offer of free telephone consultation and was given free advice by a solicitor to take out an indemnity insurance as protection should a neighbour want to enforce the covenant, and that "in most cases it boils down to money and the insurance company will settle to allow you to continue running the business" He suggested using him or going locally just to get the insurance papers checked, putting no pressure on me and saying it should cost no more than £200 each for insurance and solicitor.

However, I have read conflicting views regarding this, stating that insurance would be a waste of money as it would give no protection.
Can anyone help me please?
Many thanks,
Lin

Last edited:
Could you try asking the Land Registry for guidance?

Thank you, Calla.
I have just phoned Land Registry, who don't police Restrictive Covenants but they did verify that it is enforeceable. The lady I spoke to was very helpful and reiterated the solicitor's comments:
1.Regarding the neighbour's attitude regarding the likelihood of them complaining - It would cost them money to do so.
2. Insurance would be a buffer against any money put into or any loans made for the business.