How many of you have a day job that isn't beauty?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

laurakate

Reaction score
I've been looking for work in beauty since July and it's really hard to come by. I'm very sure that I'm doing all the right things so that's that...I'm trying my best to make it happen but even then a lot of the jobs out there are part time.

What i want to know is, how many people in the beauty industry also have a "day job" doing something that has little/nothing to do with beauty but brings in the sort of money that is a lot harder to bring in with beauty?

I always said when I started training that my goal was to earn my main income working in beauty but I'm thinking that I might have to reassess that goal because I would perhaps get more money/hours doing something else.

I do want to keep my hand in with beauty even if it's a bit of mobiling here and there at the very least. Right now though I'll be honest and say that financially it might be a case of "I gotta do what I gotta do".

Can anyone else relate to this?

ETA: I just want to say that I would love to have a beauty career that lasts decades long as I progress with something I love and I do value job satisfaction above being rich but all the same, currently I'm skint

I work in a food store!

Any job that allows you as much flexibility as possible and has overtime going is good to have so supermarket and bar jobs are top.

Not the best of jobs but they will usually have extra hours you can do when available and as your beauty side grows they will hopefully let you cut down your hours x

I work in HR and recruitment and have for a very long time. The kind of salary i earn would be soo hard to match in beauty but here I am, working my butt off during every hour im not in the office hoping that one day ill have a very credible business to leave and take up "full time".