How much do you pay an Accountant to prepare your annual accounts?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shellbert

Reaction score
Hi guys
I've just paid my accountant's bill which normally I do by monthly standing order but cancelled it last year as I wasnt too sure what I was doing business wise.
I'm a sole trader with a small beauty business of just myself so its not anything to time consuming for him.
So ..... having just had to pay £587.00 which didnt please me much as you can imagine, I was just wondering what people's thoughts were.
I'm rubbish at getting paperwork together on time but really am trying to be organised now, and I dont think I have the time/patience to do it all myself?
Can anyone tell me what is a fair amount to be paying an accountant these days?

Many thanks

My accountant charges per hour (£80).

Your bill does seem a bit high but it depends what your accountant is doing for their money. If they have to spend hours just getting your accounts into some basic order then, obviously you will be charged for this time.

I would ask them to itemise the invoice. After all, this comes out of your earnings (albeit tax deductible) but I would definitely want to make sure the charge is justified.

I would highly recommend you getting some basic book keeping knowledge. Not only will it save you money, you will be in much better position to analyse your own business.

Hi guys
I've just paid my accountant's bill which normally I do by monthly standing order but cancelled it last year as I wasnt too sure what I was doing business wise.
I'm a sole trader with a small beauty business of just myself so its not anything to time consuming for him.
So ..... having just had to pay £587.00 which didnt please me much as you can imagine, I was just wondering what people's thoughts were.