Is this job viable as you get older and physically less robust?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ELLE BELLA

Reaction score
I was wondering if any more mature hairdressers on here are planning to Continue in this line of work indefinitely?
Having recently had a cortisone injection for tennis elbow which appears to have been successful and various other aches and pains ( mostly shoulders , neck ) which I won't bore you with , I wonder if I should think about re- training in another line of work
As I worry if things get much worse , I won't be physically able to do it anymore .
I don't know many mature hairdressers ! And to be honest it's not something I ever thought about when I entered this profession as a school leaver .
Thoughts please ![emoji3]

Hello!

I'm a self employed beauty therapist and after 20 years, my hands are starting to show signs of wear! :-D

This has made me think long term, I'll need to do this until I retire, so about another 20 years.

Just wondering if I should consider some kind of personal insurance, not just accident and illness, but maybe my hands as well?

Has anyone else done this? My current insurance with The Guild only covers the business.

Thanks in advance:)

Hi both,

Hope you don't mind but I've merged your two threads together as they cover a similar topic and affect Geeks in both the Beauty and Hair related professions and it would be interesting to garner more views.
-----------------

Is there such a thing as insurance cover that's financially affordable for our type of profession as opposed to say people in the Entertainent or Sports industries on massive salaries?

Would it be sensible to consider retraining in a complementary field or even a different field entirely?
Are there useful skills that you can easily transfer?

Last edited:
I came into hairdressing in my forties having retrained after having a child.