Nail infection from me?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
I've been doing a clients shellac toenails for about 7 months. She first contacted me because her friend had damaged one of her toenails from filing off the shellac rather than using remover. A few of her nails were quite weak but other than that looked healthy. She lives just around the corner from me and was really happy when she found out that I did nails.

The last time she came for her appointment, her large toenail looked flaky and white at the top when I took the shellac off. To be honest fungal infection never even crossed my mind at the time as I'm the only one that does her nails. She questioned it but I brushed it off and I told her that it's likely to be weakness and carried on, which was my genuine feeling. When she left it played on my mind as I could tell she was really concerned and not happy with my response.

She usually has them done every 9 weeks. So once it got to the 10 week mark, I text to see if she wanted an appointment, and she replied to say that she had booked in somewhere else near to her work for convenience just this once and would be in touch. That was in March and I haven't heard anything since. I sent a text to some of my regulars to say that I'm going on holiday and who needs appointment and she never responded. Now I'm panicking as I haven't been doing nails for very long and I love my job! I'm worried I'll get shut down or in trouble!

I use boiling water to clean my tools and then I spray them with Mundo Disinfectant Spray and let them dry naturally. I sit them in Barbicide solution whilst working. I have two sets of tools, so alternate them between clients so that I can clean after each appointment. I also spray my work areas and use clean towels, so can't think of what could have gone wrong?? I'm so worried that it's put me off doing any nails now.