Nails - new business start up questions help!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Suzukisvk3

Reaction score
Hi everyone my name is Lisa and I am currently studying to become a nail technician which I am very excited about and thoroughly enjoying.
I plan to do this from home around my current commitments really as I love the profession but also to do something for me which I am sure many of you will understand.
I do have a question regarding the business side. I currently work already so I believe that I will need to set up as a sole trader where I declare my income and outgoings yearly to pay my rates. However, I was wondering if someone could help me with the best records to keep. Should I open a separate bank account and pay in my takings and make payments for supplies from the same account to keep things transparent. Or do you think I will be fine using my normal bank account if I keep adequate records.
As its cash I am finding it difficult to work out how to ensure HMRC will be satisfied that what I have said I have worked is true.
Thank you in advance.

I think many sole traders only deal with cash and this is something HMRC will be used to. You don't need a separate bank account but it can be useful. Keep records of everything you spend for the business (expenses) and all money you make (income). I always write on my client record cards what the client has paid, I also record it separately on a spreadsheet. These, along with my diary should all match up so if ever I did have an HMRC inspection it should all tally and be above board.

Despite their reputation HMRC are very helpful if you were to call and ask any advice. They also run free workshops which are meant to be very good.