New mobile beauty therapist in need of some help please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LinzBar

Reaction score
Hello everyone

I'm in need of some advice please?!......

I'm about to start up as a mobile beauty therapist, I've already got my massage/beauty couch and pedicure stool. I've been looking at lots of beauty cases/trolleys but I'm sure of the best option, any ideas? I'm thinking I need quite a bit set i.e. at least 3 sections, so I can store nails stuff in the one, waxing in another and facial stuff in another. But I'm still not sure if everything will fit! Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Also, what do other mobile therapists do for a manicure table? I've seen some on ebay that look ideal and fold down, so should be fairly easy to put in the car. But I'm starting to think how much stuff I'm going to need, depending on treatment, and how hard it's going to be carting it around everywhere!

And my last question for today is about the self employment accounts/tax etc. I'm in full time employment and planning on doing the beauty as part time to start with - I'm not quite sure where to start to be honest, so a point in the right direction would be great! I've looked briefly at the Inland Revenue website, but there is so much information to sift through.

Thanks in advance.
Lindsey x :rolleyes:

Hi Linz - welcome to the site, and to the business!! I'm a mobile tech in Scotland and got started last year. I'm just now finding my feet and am still learning every day, but I'm confident and my skills are speaking for themselves. I have lots of happy clients and am just now working on expanding as I'll have more time after September (my little one is off to nursery!).