New to the nail world

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IlonaW

Reaction score
Hi there! I am a licensed nail tech, but I have been doing hair the last few years and never worked in a nail salon, I really want to do nails but I have zero experience outside of what I learned in school years ago. I bought a practice hand and started practicing acrylic application. But I'm very worried that I won't have the confidence to apply for a job, I worry about being able to find a salon that will find me worth the time for extra training that I'm sure I need. So how do I go about applying?? I need help :( thanks in advance.

Freebies, do nails for your friends and family and take plenty of pictures to build a portfolio. It also might be an idea to set up a Facebook page where they can leave reviews of your work to further support any applications.

That's a very good idea! I hadn't thought of bringing in a portfolio, I thought it woulD be a "go in and apply let's see what happens" thing.

It's the best way to show a prospective employer what you can do, what your skill level is and what sets you apart from others that might apply. It also might be a good plan to have someone you can take pictures of after you've done their nails and then do a two or three week later shoot of growth, any (or lack of ;) ) lifting and infill xx

So how would I go about telling them on one hand I'm not "terrible" but that I still need training? Because I don't know the methods to all the shapes out there, and I can't wait too long to start applying, I've been out of work 3 months almost

Tell them you want to expand on your experience to bring it up to professional levels :)

Ugh, that's so good...I'm not good with interviews and thinhs of that nature @..@ I stumble and don't know what to say. You're very good c: