Rent a chair, is this too pricey?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GlamByChez

Reaction score
Hey guys!

Need some advice please!

I am a hair and makeup artist in Uxbridge and I've been looking for a chair to rent for a while.

The only salon I've found that is offering this is a salon inside a gym.
It's on the ground floor so there are no windows/natural light which is a bit of a bummer, the mirror in my space is tiny and there's hardly any storage space to lay out my kit for my clients.

She said the rate is £50 per day.

I think this is very pricey for location and the spot itself.

What are your thoughts?

That seems expensive to me. I'd say 20-25 per day x

I'm 75 a day in Essex plus colour and plus card machine

No way to 50 per day.....I know uxbridge a little and i would say 30...35 tops love. Depends where you are though. The rule of thumb is you pay the same daily rate as you charge for a cut & finish. Affluent areas may differ xx

It all depends where in the uk it is.

A salon "up north" is going to be cheaper, both in chair rental and pricing for your services, than one " down south"

Just keep looking, so you can build up a view on the costs in your area.

See i disagree with the north south divide....there are nice and not so nice areas all over the country. My friend lives in a beautiful smart area of manchester .......price bracket the same as essex x

I would keep looking......it's not the daily rate that is an issue, it's where it is.
I think within a gym is great for massage/waxing/facials etc..., but for what you are offering, I think you need to be seen!

You need a 'area' where folk can see you working your 'make up magic!' :D
Tucked away in a windowless room, is not going to be suitable imo.:cool: