Pricing for family

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi ladies, I need help on whether to charge my family for all waxing, tinting etc and how much or just do it for free?
I'm not sure if I should do a family rate or standard pricing for everyone I I do charge. Thanks in advance :))

You need to charge them something as ur us your products and time being used- for close family ie my mum she just gets charged to cover cost of product- my aunty, cousins etc are all full price - you could maybe offer 20% discount for family but don't feel you have to!

Xx

Are you working from home or in a salon?

As a student, I treat my family at home for practice and it helps to keep up my skills. I charge them family rates that cover the cost of equipment, insurence etc, but not for my time. My prices are very similar to college salon prices.

If you are working from a salon then I would more than likely charge normal salon prices with maybe a 10% discount.

I hope this helps.

Last edited:
I always do my mother for free and for friends and family I give them 20% off!! at the end of the day I feel this is my job and I'm sure they wouldn't want to work for free and neither do I lol!! Start as you mean to go on x

I guess a lot will depend on your relationships :) I'd never dream of charging my mum - but certainly would my siblings as I'm not very close with them. (step and half...)
I'd also weigh up how much I'd charge those of my friends who don't charge me for helping me out... :) I might charge them materials (they'd understand) but not for my time :)