Spray tanning technique

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meganm109

Reaction score
Hiya.

So I've been taught to tan vertically down (apart from hands and feet). However, I'm still relatively new to it and I'm so paranoid I'm going to miss a bit. The tan I use doesn't show the colour for a little while after so I can't really see until then. I have only missed a patch once on a client but I still get really worried!

Does anyone have any tips or different ways of tanning? Thanks x

Hi, I would definitely use a tan that has a dark colour guide so you can see where you are spraying, especially if your new to it. I would find it very hard myself with out a guide colour to follow. Xx

Hi. My routine is ....
I start tanning clients back, the back of legs, sides and front of legs
Then midriff, arms, chest, neck, face.
Then turn the client round to double check and respray back of upper arms (skin is thicker there and on thighs and sometimes needs another spray)
Turn client round to face you, and check/spray again.
Hope this helps. X

Thank you! I have been taught to start with face, neck and front of body then to go onto back. I'm a lover of spray tans so I've had lots in the past before I qualified and I've never had it done the way I've been taught.

I may have to shop around then to see if I can find a darker guide. What tan do you use? Xx

If you start on the back your client is more comfortable rather than them standing facing you waiting for you to start.
It's also good as you can do a stroke down the back and adjust your gun if necessary. Even after testing it on couch I sometimes do an adjustment.

I always start at the back. Back and back of legs first. Get client to turn to one side, front arm up, back leg forward, spraying arm, side and side of leg. Repeat on other side.