Starting again

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

leannexax

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to this page and would be grateful for some advice...
I'm qualified in lash extensions, lash lift, waxing, tinting, gel polish, nails and hair extensions. I qualified approx 2 years ago in lash extensions then went on to do courses for the rest. I would love to open my own salon but find this very risky and in two minds what to do. I have tried to build a clientele base but seem to be struggling with this, any tips? I'm in a position to concentrate solely on setting up a business but unsure whether to do this mobile or open a salon, I have came across a premise which would be perfect however it needs some work doing which I don't have the funds to do so at the moment. I'm a single parent and unsure what to do for the best. Beauty and hair extensions is my passion and I would love my own salon. Anyone else been in this situation or similar? I don't know whether to give it all up and get a job elsewhere (not in beauty)
Any advice or tips would be great
Thank you

Please please don’t be under the illusion that if you have a shop you will suddenly have clients. Your best bet is to either work from home or work Mobile to build up a steady clientele. Get your name out there and become known for amazing work. Share pictures on social media, get a website, get leaflets and make absolutely everything as professional as possible. Make it amazing.

I had been in this industry for 10 years with a steady clientele who would come regularly. Nothing prepared me for the costs involved with a salon, and I have never been as rich as I was working from home!