Starting out, going slowly

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JayM

Reaction score
Bit about my background. I have been a qualified make up artist since 2002 and done this freelance alongside working in retail as a manager.

I left retail to start another career in private health as a manager and left that role after 1 year for a number of reasons including ill health and bullying from an existing team. I've been off work for a year now.

I have been offered a beauty room in a established small salon. I have in the last year or so completed the following treatments:-

Nails - gel
Luxury manicure and pedicure
Express Nails
iNails
Acrylic extensions
Spray tan
Facial

I'm also looking to complete the following: -
Waxing with Kim Lawless
Body massage
Electric facial and body treatments
More make up courses

So am I best to start slowly in a small salon and go from there? The rate is £20 per day all bills included and minimum of 3 days a week.

Let me know you're thoughts! I'm looking to retail some products as well. Ideas gratefully received xxx

Oh i should have added that I was thinking on doing temp work in admin or getting a part time admin role for maybe mon and Tuesday's until I'm established x

Hi, i would rent the room if I was you, maybe just do the 3 days per week to start with to see how you get on. I started renting a room in November, I do mani, pedi, callus peel, spray tans, shellac, lvl, eyelash extensions and I done a waxing course with kim lawless. I have always made enough money to cover my rent, good luck in what ever you decide to do x

Can you afford £60 per week if you have no clients? Have you got a client base at all?
The rent is cheap and you could ask for a three month trial perhaps and work out what that would cost you in rent.