Thinking of quitting..?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noo

Reaction score
Hi Guys

I used to work in finance and re-trained couple of years ago as beauty therapist.

I went self-employed as mobile beauty therapist and have built up a successful business (too busy more than anything which is great).

However, I'm seriously thinking of giving it all up as it just seems so much work - both physically and mentally.

All the lugging kit and stock, keeping clients happy (all the clients who chop and change appointments aswell!!), organising diary, keeping website current, ordering/buying stock, keeping my books, organising other therapists for pamper party bookings....list goes on and on

If I'm not out at night chances are I'm doing work-related stuff in house - feel it's overtaking my life and I've got a 18mth old and a 3yr old who I also like to dedicate time to (obviously!).

I long for the days of leaving office without another thought of work till the next day but when you're self-employed there's no getting away from work as your mobile is your work. I'm always getting calls and emails I have to deal with when trying to have family time etc etc

There are parts of the job I love - I love doing pamper parties, my work in sheltered houses with the old ladies and seeing my 'regulars'. Wondered if I could somehow combine these areas with part-time office job?

Sorry for rambling on... wondered if any of you have felt like this and what you did or what's kept you going...

Another thing is not getting paid for holiday time - would love fortnight off but no chance I could afford it!! And that's me busy - hard to work up buffer in bank account when money is being spent on advertising, stock etc etc

aaarrgghh, in total quandry. Don't want to waste what I've built up but not enjoying it all at moment which isn't fair on clients or myself.