UV gel viscosity

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a new nail technician (licensed in Jan 2016)
I've had to switch from acrylic to UV gel for health reasons ( I have Lupus) even though I've found ways to reduce smell, it still induces migraines.
So, I started using ibd UV gel. However, I find that even working relatively Swift it seems a bit runny (could be my inexperience). I work on 4 fingers, then cure.
I was hoping someone can recommend a gel with a better viscosity and hopefully this will help.
I've been looking at nsi, but want to ask for advice first.

Thank you all in advance for your responses

You could flash cure (a 10 sec cure if your machine allows it) before the full cure I do this when using white for my French I find it keeps my smile lines crisp! You could flash cure after each finger or do 2 & then cure, whatever suits x

You could flash cure (a 10 sec cure if your machine allows it) before the full cure I do this when using white for my French I find it keeps my smile lines crisp! You could flash cure after each finger or do 2 & then cure, whatever suits x
Thank you so much for your help

I would say that with any building gel it is really runny and hard to get that clean shape. I would just do a flash cure of 10 seconds on each nail and then a full cure at the end. And don't worry if it looks a little messy after curing, That is what filing is for. If you are used to using acrylic, 9 times out of 10 it will properly take for ever to get a nice clean extenuation because it is such a different texture.

Just watch this video and skip to 8:44 and see how messy it can be:
A Nail Tech that has been in the industry for years mainly using acrylic and known for that but when using gel she mostly has to file.