Who Works Self Employed?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wannabe

Reaction score
Either in a salon or mobile....cos I wanna hear your stories....when/how you started etc. This is what /i'm intending to do eventually, so need inspiration from those who have made it work!

x

Me

Left a very well paid office job in January 2004, did my Creative Foundation in March 2005, became a Creative Master Technician in February 2005.

I work from my home salon (former spare bedroom) and last week I turned a profit in this financial year for the first time since I started trading nearly 2 years ago :D

With training, my van, advertising, hotels, stock, furniture, insurance, etc., etc., etc., it's cost near on 10K to get where I am now

Some days it was hell, in fact, lots of days were hell, some days it was heaven, but everyday I smile when I realise I run my own business and it's starting to take off quite nicely thank you very much :wink2:

Blood, sweat, tears and frustation beyone belief in the first year. Little moments of clarity, big smiles of satisfaction and more hard work in the second year but loving every minute :lol:

Hi there

I started off doing nails on friends an family

then went to work in a salon

then i left there an went to run a local salon but wasnt the owner

then decided that was too much wasnt being paid enough

so i worked from home for 6 months , didnt like that felt like my home wasnt my own public where in an out.......

then decided to open my own salon when all the kids had started school
they was great i loved it an have no regrets in doing it
but i seperated from my parnter tried to keep it going a year after our split
but had loads of probs with staff etc i couldnt but the hours in because of the children, they didnt like after school club so my priorties came 1st an so i was forced to close the salon........