Absolute newbie over here!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smilingsweetheart

Reaction score
Hi lovelies!

I'm looking to start doing gel nails from home but stuck at the first hurdle.. The training.
Currently I'm not interested in offering extensions, just gel polish on hands and feet with nail art if a client wishes so I believe a Manicure & Pedicure course, Gel polish and Gel Polish Design courses are a must. I'm in South West UK but can travel if need be.
Many sites just state 'certificate on completion' but I'm unsure as to specific ones I should be looking to get.

I welcome your advice on which courses to take and also advise on the best brand of Gel.

Many thanks :)

Check out your local college for nail courses. This would ensure you get a recognised qualification in mani, pedi, gel & be able to get insurance.
Once you have done this, go on a product specific training day / week to learn about the exact brand you are going to use.

Hey! I’d totally recommend the creative beauty group for their gel nail training. I did my gel manicure with them back in April, using the Gel two system. Their training was spot on, they were super welcoming and made you feel totally at ease.
Like you I am just starting out, so I know it’s scary getting the right training, using the best products and making a good start.

I can’t recommend them enough, but I also know it depends on your budget, availability etc.