Acrylic nails… worried

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reaction score
Hi guys bit of a random one

I’ve been doing acrylic nails for ten years now no health issues or allergies and I’m very competent with it.

I do mobile and use a shed in my garden…

I’ve just had a baby and only just become kind of of conscious of vapours and harming my health… think I just read somewhere nail techs being at risk of cancer and it’s playing on my mind…

I don’t use gloves or a mask I’m pretty relaxed … I do use a mask when I use my e file mine you.

Anyone shed any light on the risks of doing acrylic nails?

I’m afraid that there isn’t any research into the risk of industrial diseases in the beauty sector. However there is ample evidence from other industries that exposure to chemical vapours and dusts needs to be carefully monitored in order to stay safe. Just using a mask isn’t enough I’m afraid.

Until recently, Women tended to work only briefly before having babies and then they didn’t return to work until possibly their 50’s. For this reason we are less aware of “women’s industrial diseases” There’s years of evidence about farmers lung and miners ailments and asbestosis. We’ll have to wait and see now that it’s so normal to combine family life and a career.

There are some industrial diseases that take 40 years to show up as damaged lungs. But it doesn’t take a lifetime of exposure to do the damage. My father - in - law didn’t like the chemicals and dusts in industry when he was an apprentice so he changed career in his mid 20’s. He still died from his exposure which was terribly sad as he didn’t drink or smoke, had always been the perfect weight and was generally in great health.