Acrylic nails advice

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ByE

Reaction score
Hello! I’m a newly qualified nail technician (March) and was recommended a few company names for products to trial once qualified, but I wanted to know what your thoughts were. I’m still really struggling with the process and although the end product looks good, I’m finding that my clients nails aren’t lasting longer than 2 weeks, sometimes even less! At the minute I’m currently only charging £10 so my products are covered but I am not making any profit. Until my acrylic nail standard improves and last longer, I would not feel happy charging more than this. I currently use Naio Nails and originally bought their starter kit which I am still using. I’ve tried everything for longer lasting nails, I ensure all dust is wiped off, there’s no cuticle or anything else on the nails and also ensure there is no shine. I use dehydrator and primer (sometimes even 2x coats).. Any advice would be great as I really enjoy doing nails but panic when someone books in for a set, that they aren’t going to last, especially when it’s for a big event or someone’s holiday.. Please help!!

It's not unusual for beginners to struggle with long lasting nails, it's part of the process and learning phase, just because you've finished your course doesn't mean you can turn out perfect nails, I'm 15+ years in and still encounter problems some days, it's the nature of our work.

Can you be more specific about your issues... is it lifting, breaking, chipping? where is it happening, free edge, cuticle, side walls???, after how long? All clients, just one or two?