Acrylic soak off taking 1.5 hours!

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LuxeBeauty

Reaction score
Hi Nail Geeks!

I am a nail technician trained in mani/pedi, gel polish and gel extensions.
I had a client in yesterday who usually comes in for gel extensions with me but hasn't been in for a while as I couldn't fit her in exactly when she wanted. After talking to her on the phone prior to her appointment yesterday she told me she had been to an NSS salon (where she used to go before coming to me) because they could do her nails there and then. She said she had had "gel powder" nail extensions put on! When she arrived yesterday she admitted she had been twice to them in the meantime and the nails were pretty thick. I told her there is no such thing as gel powder and she has had acrylics put on again!
So to cut a long story short I attempted to soak off the acrylics. I know I'm not trained in acrylics specifically but I asked a colleague for advice and didn't want to send my client back to have them drilled off at the NSS place.....she already had marks left by the drill!
I began by buffing of as much of the acrylic as possible then soaking in acetone in an attempt to remove them. These 'acrylics' didn't even lift or disintegrate after an hour of soaking and buffing! I didn't want to file the final thin layer off as I was afraid of filing the natural nail too much and didn't want to make the natural nail any thinner than they already were. In just two visits they have completely ruined her nails!!!

Sooooo to get to the point of this post what I want to know is was this proper EMA acrylic or does it sound more like that horrible MMA stuff? What would you have done in this situation? Would you have sent the client back to NSS to have them filed off or tried your very best and used proper care and attention and removed as much as you could without damaging the nails?