Advice needed for training please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrsH

Reaction score
Hi there,

I have been doing my own nails for a while now, and even moved onto practicing on my best friend and it's going really well.

However, I have been waiting for our local college to start their next 2 Day Nail Technology Course. It was due to start in March, then in April, and now goodness knows when as they need 16 students for it to go ahead and so far they have 2 (including me LOL).

So, could anyone help me in telling me what Qualifications I need to start with. I am a total novice (ie no qualifications in nails at all) but so much enjoy Nails that I am thinking on the lines of getting qualified so I can go mobile in my area and hopefully make a few £ as well.

Where did others train??? I see some 2 day courses for £400 + vat.....but is 2 day courses enough to get a qualification and it seems an awful lot for such a short time training.

Am I better to go for a college course or a course offered by local Beauty salons...?
Do colleges or salons teach you Acrylic, Gel, Silk etc all in one go or do you have to attend seperate courses......its all very confusing.

Hope someone can set me off in the right direction:D

Personally I don't think that two days is anywhere near enough to cover everything .
I have done all my training with CND and can't rate them highly enough , they are amazing .The CND product range is also brilliant and a dream to work with .
Information on their education program can be found here Global Education Programme

I have only trained with CND so I cannot comment on other providers .

Thanks for that.

Would love to Train with CND but theres nothing near me :sad:

Just spoken to Sally's about their courses and they tell me they run 2, one is accredited by ABT and one is Accredited by Guild of Beauty Therapist ?????????