Advice needed

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tvo2901

Reaction score
Hi, I’m a self employed therapist, I run my own mostly massage business and pay a % to use my room. I work (alongside)an osteopath, not sure that’s the right terms. basically a osteopath used my room originally he moved locations and I took over the room. He recommends me when his clients would need a massage rather than his treatments. He does some advertising for me on his website (rare these days) and I run the business under my business name, my consultations are in my business name, signed by my clients. He provides the massage bed and towels and some oils. Everything else is my own. I also do my own advertising ect and bring in clients myself it’s not purely through him.

My dilemma as such...

He drew up a contract at the start which was over a year ago now, I stupidly don’t know much about the legal side etc and signed away.

I have been given the opportunity to have my own room, the overheads are a lot cheaper in comparison to the 40% I pay. My contract states my clients can’t see me for a year when I leave.
Said contract isn’t at all professional it’s a statement of agreement. Copied and pasted off the internet.

Would that be the case??? Can they not choose to follow me?

He doesn’t have an alternative therapist it’s just me.

I’m self employed are they not “my” clients?

It’s my business name. My consultations, my treatments they come for over and over again.

Does this contract mean anything. Don’t think he was very clued up on it either tbh.

One thing it also states is the contract is to be reviewed and agreed by both myself and him every six months that’s never happened. Is that a breach of contract!