Advice on Level 2 Beauty college course & work experience hours required

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nonnynoo

Reaction score
Hi,

Im currently doing level 2 beauty at my local college. I am a mature student and have really enjoyed the course.

Part of the course was to do 8 Saturdays in the college salon and also 24 hours work experience. The girls that worked in a customer service setting could use that for these hours ie Sainsbury's and Pizza Express to name a couple.

I have done 2 of the Saturdays and half the work experience hours when I assisted at some college events.

I did a separate gel course, got myself insured etc and started working doing gels and have added spray tans and eyebrows with separate paid courses. As I had got busy the head said they may accept those hours for the above. I got together a portfolio inc insurance cert, public liability, photographic evidence, copy of diary and any advertising information. she has since turned round and said it is not acceptable and that its to do with the government as they set it and as I work for myself they wont accept that.

I am getting conflicting advice though as a couple of tutors have advised on the side that this is a new rule from September and this academic year it should still be acceptable. I also spoke to another college about going there for level 3 and they have said the government only require work experience hours for students aged between 16-19.

Im so confused, I just wondered if there was anyone that could point me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance for any help offered x

Sounds like you've being given conflicting advice by the tutors. There are two separate issues here.

Work Experience towards a level 2 qualification:
Your qualification framework has got nothing to do with the government.