Advice on training please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OstaraJA

Reaction score
Hi! I've read through pages and pages of posts, so I know questions get asked like this all the time, but I couldn't find answers that completely covered my questions.

I am completely new to nails. No experience at all. I was working in an office before my twins came along and decided to be a stay at home Mum when my maternity leave ended. The twins are 1 this month and I'm so glad I'm not stuck in an office anymore, but I do need to do something to build up a career for when my babies aren't babies anymore. Over the years, I've often thought about doing nails, but never did anything about it because it's so different to what I've done before and I wasn't brave enough to take the plunge while I had a decent full time wage... but I obviously don't have that anymore

Anyway, I've got a cnd academy literally minutes away from home, so I've been looking at their courses. At the moment, my plan is to do their beginners shellac course, followed by beginners L&P. Does that sound like a sensible plan? Or would I be better off doing them the other way round? Or a different course altogether?

I've kind of discounted a college course, because the hours might be difficult to fit in around the twins, but if I train with cnd will I be limited to their products? Having done a bit of reading, it sounds like cnd is great training, but if I later decide I want to try different products, will I be able to buy them with cnd qualifications?

Any advice would be appreciated! Training seems like less of a big jump now that I'm not working and have nothing to lose, but it still feels like a big decision and I want to get it right :)

Hi! I've read through pages and pages of posts, so I know questions get asked like this all the time, but I couldn't find answers that completely covered my questions.