Advise on bleach bath please

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abbeymwxx

Reaction score
Hi All
I'm doing my friends hair on Sunday. She normally just has her roots done. She had previously been dyeing her own hair bright red and then went over it with a brown (box colour). You could still see the red which she didn't like so I went over it with a Matrix 3N which she was happy with. However because of the build up of all the colours that she put on her hair looks almost black. So this time she has asked if I will bleach her hair and put on a lighter brown. I have never done a full head bleach before ( except on my block ). I have advised a whole head of highlights first but she wants it all bleached. I would like some advise on what to use for the bleach bath as I won't see my tutor until Wednesday. I have Matrix bleach which says it fine for on scalp. Should I just mix up the bleach with 10 vol? Or should I add shampoo to the mix? I'm guessing I'll only lift it to an orange shade as it's so dark and then apply colour on top? If it's already ginger will I get away with applying a neutral light brown? I don't want it to go a horrible colour. Any advise will be great :) ImageUploadedBySalonGeek1421999499.207214.jpg
Her hair now

It probably wont even lift to an orange colour if theres build up, not to mention theres red underneath. Do a cleanse rather than a full head bleach cause that will remove your build up first. 1 scoop of bleach, 2 scoops of 20vol, 1-2 scoops of shampoo and a scoop of water. Don't touch any virgin root with it. Explain to her that it will be a long process and will take a few goes to get it to the colour she wants. Once you've done the cleanse, if the integrity allows, try wella blondor with pastel in a 1:4 ratio, its brilliant. Then see what depth it lifts up to, does she it warm, cool or neutral?

Last edited:
Last edited: