Attention all salon owners...

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Saucygirl

Reaction score
I'm in the planning stages of a small Nails Only salon.

I am a licensed nail tech, and working alone, offering manis, pedis and acrylic enhancements.

This is a small town and there are no other nail salons in the immediate area.

So my question is this....

What do you wish you knew about the business side before you opened your doors?

I have a background in business, so I'm not going into this blind, but there are always those helpful things that you can learn from someone who has gone before you.

Thanks in advance.

I wished i'd known about all the red tape involved eg health and safety, employment law etc and knowing more about attracting new clients
GOOD LUCK

I wish i had put in place my now very successful recommend a friend scheme and stuck to my business plan of 2 price rises a year.

Pick your product brand carefully.

Choose your staff wisely.

Don't center your salon strongly around a particular brand make YOU the brand.

Make your literature about what YOU have to offer don't center it on a particular brand.

ensure you have contracts and all your salon rules written and given to staff before they start

Make cleanliness top of your list, together with a warm welcoming smile, and a willingness to work all the hours of the day.
However, don't let the clients walk all over you - you're still the boss ! Some of them push you to the limit :mad:
Don't expect to make much money to start with either. Most of it will get ploughed back into the business for stock, advertising, utility bills etc.
I have the only salon in my town and I'm still concious that people can travel to the next town if they don't like what I do..............
Good Luck in your new business