Becoming an eyelash extension trainer/educator

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theemiss17

Reaction score
Hey guys! Hope everyone is doing well through these miserable and uncertain times. Im sorry if this has been answered before, I did a long search on this topic and failed to find out much. I would also love to hear your own journey of going about becoming an eyelash extension educator in the UK.

I have been doing eyelash extensions for 7 years now. I have an extreme amount of bookings (i also do microblading). My eyes hurt, my back is killing me (I'm sure some can relate) and I decided I cannot do this anymore. I will be sticking to microblading. But doing eyelashes is just not the same a to me anymore.

For the past 3 years, I have been begged by some of my clients (some already qualified eyelash technicians) if i could give them lessons, and show them my own techniques. I have learned a lot of techniques solely by myself and, although I no longer feel like I want to do eyelashes, I want to share that knowledge with others!

I just don't know where to start. I am only interested in working independently for myself from my salon. I do not want to train for a company. I have seen people mention a
AET Level 3 Award in Education and Training (PTLLS course). Is this an absolute must? even if I was to teach qualified eyelash technicians?
Also, I have seen that you then contact an accreditation body. (once again, is this a must ? do i have to have a written layout of the course? )

Lastly, i couldnt find any trainer insurance covers. I guess they have a specific name? Could someone let me know who they got their insurance cover with ?

Any help would be amazing. Like i said, i am really confused by it all.

Much love xx