Calcium in Gel?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NatalieJ

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I work with a girl who I noticed had her nails done the other day - I had a look and found out they are natural nail overlay with Gel, she went on to say that the nail tech said the gel has calcium in it which actually helps the nails grow.Now my first reaction was that its not true and it couldn't have calcium in it, but as im a relative newbie and don't know this girl too well I didn't say anything just said that they looked nice and that was that!

Is there any amount of truth in this? If not its not really fair for the tech to say this as the client is always going to believe it!

thanks x x

I suppose a product could contain calcium ... but it would have no affect on the growth rate or health of a normal natural nail.

Fingernails contain, actually, only trace amounts of calcium and it is one of those myths that calcium-containing products help your nails at all.

This type of Marketing is all about appealing to those who believe the myths or simply do not know the facts.

Like claiming that one particular nail product is organic and that somehow makes it better for the natural nails. Rubbish ... all nail products are organic which simply means they contain Carbon. Doesn't mean the products are better or more pure or healthier! Cow poop is organic (hardly pure or healthy) ... great for the garden, but not for your nails.

OMG...whatever next LOL

There is roughly 0.07% calcium in your nails....you have more traces of titanium and alluminium in your nails so Calcium has no effect whatsover to your nails

Amanda

Thanks for the reply Geeg. Its hard to say anything about it when you're not 100% sure of the facts!