Calling all newbies out there....

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moanie

Reaction score
I am a new nail tech, I work hard & practice hard.
My confidence gets knocked and knocked but I make myself keep going. I am going to produce a good set of nails that I am proud of 1 day no matter what people think, say or do! I qualified in Nov 05 with Creative. I use the word Qualified loosely, like passing your driving test, your are still learning for quit a long time after.

The point of this thread is to get some feed back from new nail techs like me.
How do you feel when a client sits watching your every brush stroke? What goes through your mind when they are looking - no, inspecting their left hand while you are working on their right hand?
When you are asked how busy you are, do you lie,sorry, are you echonomicle with the truth?
Do you act more confident than you really are?
Do you feel that your training was enough, was it value for money?
Do you feel like you can go back to your educators for support without being made to feel like a neusence?
If you have never posted before, make this your first one. would love to here from you and get some good honest feed back.

Hi Flossy!

I am also fairly new at this. Trained with creative in sept 05, have only really been doing friends since, and am now looking to go self-employed/mobile in the near future. All I can say is that the more you do it the better you get. Everytime I learn something new, and maybe even make new mistakes, but as long as you take these on board and learn from them then you can only improve.

Do not worry about people watching you, just get your head down (as someone else on here said - learn to talk to your clients' nails intead of their face - it will save you tons of time) and do the best you can each time.

I am sure you will be fine!

:)

babyshakes said:
Hi Flossy!