Can anyone give me advice on nail painting?

SalonGeek

Help Support SalonGeek:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sarfield

Reaction score
I'm studying ITEC beatuy therapy, and my first year exam is in a few weeks. We only do a basic manicure, but i'm struggling with getting the enamelling right, and i'm really worried.

My hands are quite shakey, which doesn't help. And i can never get a completely straight base line (where the cuticles are). I've been trying different shaped brushes, and figured that a square tipped would be best for getting a stright line, but i'm still have trouble.

We have to use only 3 strokes, and so i do a central stroke, then 2 on either side.

I've also not chosen my emamel yet. I was going to use OPI, but the one i bought goes steaky on the first coat, and sometimes even has visible streaky patches with a 2nd coat. I find that it needs 3 coats, which we're not allowed to do in the exam. Maybe it's just the shade, i dunno.

Anyway i was just wondering if any experts had some general tips on getting enamel perfect?

OPI is a fab rage and their brushes are perfect IMO.
Try using the polish you choose before using it in an exam.
Shaking hands when painting nails is usually because you haven't got your wrist supported correctly.
Try using your little finger to balance the rest of your hand while polishing. So hold clients hand with say left hand, pull skin away from sides of nail that you are painting, then use the little finger of the other hand to rest on your hand that's supporting the clients. This really helps massively to stop the shaking.

It's better to nip the shaking in the bud quickly before you start worrying yourself every time you have to paint someone's nails. Then this can turn into a nervous issue rather than bad positioning.